Falcon BMS 4.32

Lockon is a no-go in this forum!
User avatar
Frostie
Posts: 2458
Joined: 15 Dec 2007 17:46
Name: Andy
Surname: Paynter
Callsign: <51>Frostie
Squadron: 51PVO
Contact:

Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Frostie » 26 Sep 2011 12:02

Get it here:

http://www.benchmarksims.org/forum/show ... n-BMS-4.32

The installer needs to see the original Falcon 4.0 or at least the .exe file to do a seperate install.



As well as the extensive changes to avionic and flight models there has been a shift from DX7 to DX9 which allows shader rendering, Post-Processing Effects and HDR.

Also there is a fantastic fully clickable 3D pit which removes the need for the old 2Dpit.

Image

Image
________________
User avatar
Gandalf
Posts: 666
Joined: 20 Dec 2010 09:52
Name: Yusuf
Surname: Essop
Callsign: Gandalf
Squadron: 51st PVO
Location: South Africa

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Gandalf » 26 Sep 2011 15:52

Looking good Frostie

Does it work with Falcon 4.0: Allie Force?
User avatar
Soviet
Posts: 1166
Joined: 14 Feb 2010 19:45

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Soviet » 26 Sep 2011 15:58

Hope ED steps up their $#it. Competition is good for everyone.
Image
User avatar
Gandalf
Posts: 666
Joined: 20 Dec 2010 09:52
Name: Yusuf
Surname: Essop
Callsign: Gandalf
Squadron: 51st PVO
Location: South Africa

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Gandalf » 26 Sep 2011 16:59

:oops: spoken like a TRUE SOVIET SOCIALIST ... competition is good; but NOT for everyone ... I would suggest
User avatar
Shamansky
08. Major [Майор]
08. Major [Майор]
Posts: 2619
Joined: 15 Dec 2007 17:12
Name: Jaroslaw
Surname: Solak
Callsign: Shamansky
Squadron: 100KIAP
Location: UK, RO, PL

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Shamansky » 26 Sep 2011 17:04

I want it. They have spent so much time working on it that it is a shame for any serious flight simmer not to have it installed IMHO. F4:AF was only a curiosity for me anyway, but this new mod makes me want to look at "old Falcon4" again. Can you upload entire installation procedure with all necessary binaries into our FTP VAULT?
51PVO POLITICAL COMMISSAR
Jaroslaw "Shaman" Solak
User avatar
Teknetinium
Posts: 2596
Joined: 15 Dec 2007 22:17
Name: Andrej
Surname: Reve
Callsign: Tek
Squadron: 51 PVO
Location: Sweden

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Teknetinium » 26 Sep 2011 20:15

Lets do this.
Image
Andrej"Teknetinium" Reve, #11 of the 51st PVO Regiment.
User avatar
Frostie
Posts: 2458
Joined: 15 Dec 2007 17:46
Name: Andy
Surname: Paynter
Callsign: <51>Frostie
Squadron: 51PVO
Contact:

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Frostie » 26 Sep 2011 22:08

Gandalf wrote:Looking good Frostie

Does it work with Falcon 4.0: Allie Force?
Nope, probably because AF sucks balls.
________________
User avatar
Shamansky
08. Major [Майор]
08. Major [Майор]
Posts: 2619
Joined: 15 Dec 2007 17:12
Name: Jaroslaw
Surname: Solak
Callsign: Shamansky
Squadron: 100KIAP
Location: UK, RO, PL

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Shamansky » 27 Sep 2011 06:32

Frostie wrote: Nope, probably because AF sucks balls.
Yes F4:AF, it is unfinished Falcon4 mod that was sold to flightsim community as complete and competitive product, fooling almost everyone.
51PVO POLITICAL COMMISSAR
Jaroslaw "Shaman" Solak
User avatar
Gandalf
Posts: 666
Joined: 20 Dec 2010 09:52
Name: Yusuf
Surname: Essop
Callsign: Gandalf
Squadron: 51st PVO
Location: South Africa

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Gandalf » 27 Sep 2011 08:03

Ok I've installed it ...

The program runs well with most of the eye candy turned up at about 30 fps. With everything turned up I'm getting about 24-27 fps.

First Impressions: Huge problem with HOTAS WARTHOG setup. The joystick settings get 'lost' every time I restart Falcon BMS. Rudder and toe brakes settings are not very intuitive. E.g., there's an entry for right toe brake but not for left. if u enter left toe brake in the brake setting and then reverse both - it works. Of course as soon as u close the program and restart I have to go through the whole rigmarole again. Anyone have a solution?

The interface is still as crappy as ever. Will report back on moddelling in the months to come (IF I REMEMBER and If my frustration with the controller setup doesn't make just chuck the whole thing ...) :oops:
User avatar
Frostie
Posts: 2458
Joined: 15 Dec 2007 17:46
Name: Andy
Surname: Paynter
Callsign: <51>Frostie
Squadron: 51PVO
Contact:

Re: Falcon BMS 4.32

Post by Frostie » 27 Sep 2011 10:48

You're always having troubles Gandalf :P
You are hitting apply and saving your profile.
Maybe you need to assign your toebrakes as something in the TM profiler but if you say they're working then just apply and save and there sholud be no issue.

I'm not even sure if L/R toe brakes work properly in Falcon, maybe you should just set as the keyboard function 'K' in your hotas profiler and stop worrying about something so trivial.
Last edited by Frostie on 27 Sep 2011 18:43, edited 1 time in total.
________________
Post Reply